Visitor & Tickets
Animals & Exhibits
Learning Adventures
Home > Learning Adventures

You're Never too Young

... to learn about the wonders of nature. Through play and interactive learning your tiny tot will be introduced to animals from around the world. All Early Childhood programs are designed with parent participation in mind. If you're looking for activities and learning adventures for little ones ages newborn - kindergarten, you'll find it all right here at the Zoo!

Guests with special needs are welcome. Please contact the education department for more information.

Classes are held in the Cargill Learning Center unless otherwise noted. Space is limited; therefore pre-registration is required. Please contact Cargill Learning Center to reserve your place. Classes take place rain or shine. Please remember, for everyone's safety and enjoyment all class participants must meet age requirements - no older or younger siblings allowed, including infants.

Activities

We have animal related activities that extend your adventure beyond your daily visit and allow your tot to continue exploring and learning.

Learning Adventures

Do all monkeys swing by their tails? Do lemurs really leap? Join us on a learning adventure you'll never forget. How is a mother frog similar or different than a mother wallaroo? Find out the answers to these questions and more through fun interactive learning and play. We have Early Childhood learning adventures for children ages newborn - kindergarten. Space is limited; therefore pre-registration is required.

Wee Wigglers  30-minute programs provide children ages 12–23 months with a first-hand experience of the wonders of animals.

Owlet  45-minute programs provide children ages 2–3 years with a glimpse of wildlife up close.

Animal Tales Preschool   Children ages 3, 4 & 5 will love visiting the Zoo on a regular basis and discovering their core learning needs with an animal theme at this Preschool!

Ewe & Me 90-minute programs for children ages 4–kindergarten include interactive learning, a Zoo walk, story time and a take-home craft.

Pajama Party Bring your youngsters ages newborn–kindergarten to the Zoo all ready for bed for this 90-minute evening program.

Sunset Safari 60-minute programs for ages 12 months to six years plus an adult offer a fun look at various animals and topics.

Tot Tuesdays Sedgwick County Zoo, Exploration Place, Wichita WATER Center, and other area museums will be combining the fun to bring you educational activities for your 3-5 year olds each month.

Classes are held in the Cargill Learning Center unless otherwise noted. Space is limited; therefore pre-registration is required. Please contact Cargill Learning Center to reserve your place. Classes take place rain or shine. Please remember, for everyone's safety and enjoyment all class participants must meet age requirements - no older or younger siblings allowed, including infants.

Cancellation Policy>

These 30-minute programs provide children ages 12–23 months with a first-hand experience of the wonders of animals. These programs include interactive learning and an animal visitor. The fee of $4 for members / $6 for nonmembers covers one adult and one child. Additional participants are just $2. Programs take place at 10:00 a.m. or 11:00 a.m. Space is limited; therefore pre-registration is required. Registration is now open for all classes. 

  • Jun 7 Tue - Chimp*
  • Jun 8 Wed - Chimp*+
  • Jul 6 Wed - Cat+
  • Jul 7 Thu - Cat
  • Aug 2 Tue - Goat**
  • Aug 3 Wed - Goat**+
  • Sep 7 Wed - Elephant***+
  • Sep 8 Thu - Elephant***
  • Oct 4 Tue - Bat
  • Oct 5 Wed - Bat+
  • Nov 2 Wed - Bird+
  • Nov 3 Thu - Bird
  • Dec 7 Wed - Hedgehog+
  • Dec 8 Thu - Hedge

+Siblings up to five years of age may also attend classes only at the 11:00 a.m. session. An additional fee of $2 will be charged for any mobile child.

* Meet at Koch Orangutan & Chimpanzee Habitat indoor exhibit
** Meet at the American Barn
***Meet at the Baobab Café

Cancellation Policy>

These 45-minute programs provide children ages 2–3 years with a glimpse of wildlife up close. These programs include interactive learning and an animal visitor. The fee of $6 for members / $8 for nonmembers covers one adult and one child. Additional participants are just $3. Programs take place at 10:00 a.m., 11:00 a.m. or 2:00 p.m. Space is limited; therefore pre-registration is required.  Registration is now open for all classes.

  • Jun 21 Tue - Chimpanzee*
  • Jun 22 Wed - Chimpanzee*+
  • Jul 20 Wed - Cat+
  • Jul 21 Thu - Cat+
  • Aug 16 Tue - Goat**+
  • Aug 17 Wed - Goat**+
  • Sep 20 Tue - Elephant***+
  • Sep 21 Wed - Elephant***+
  • Oct 18 Tues - Bat+
  • Oct 19 Wed - Bat+
  • Nov 16 Wed - Bird+
  • Nov 17 Thu - Bird+
  • Dec 20 Tue - Hedgehog+
  • Dec 21 Wed - Hedgehog+

+Siblings up to five years of age may also attend these classes at 11:00 a.m. only. An additional fee of $3 will be charged for any mobile child.
* Meet at the Koch Orangutan & Chimpanzee Habitat indoor exhibit.
** Meet at the American Barn.
*** Meet at the Baobab Café.

Cancellation Policy>

Animal Tales Preschool

Learning your ABCs has never been so exciting!

Parents will enjoy the small class sizes with a teacher-child ratio of at least one teacher for every eight students. Children ages 3, 4 and 5 will love visiting the Zoo on a regular basis and discovering their core learning needs with an animal theme. Students will also have regular interactions with the Zoo’s “animal ambassadors” in the classroom.

Animal Tales Preschool at Sedgwick County Zoo strives to be a green preschool by using environmentally friendly materials and integrating conservation techniques in the classroom. Students will learn the importance of reduce, reuse and recycle in a fun hands-on fashion every day.

Classes will meet in the Desert Room at the Cargill Learning Center. The Desert Room was specifically designed for preschool students with vivid colors and a fun animal mural. There is also a child-sized bathroom located inside the classroom.

There is a maximum of 15 students so call today to for more information. Call 266-8213 or stop by the Cargill Learning Center for more information.

Classes are held September through May.

Class Schedules: 
Age 3 - FULL Click to be added to the waiting list>
Tuesdays and Thursdays: 9:00-11:30 a.m.

Ages 4 & 5 - FULL
Click to be added to the waiting list>
Monday, Wednesday and Friday: 9:00-11:30 a.m. or 12:30-3:30 p.m.

Registration Fee: $50 per year

Cost per child:
Age 3: Tuesday and Thursday: $105 per month
Ages 4 & 5: Monday, Wednesday and Friday:  $145 per month

These 90-minute programs for children ages 4–kindergarten include interactive learning, a Zoo walk, story time and a take-home craft. The fee of $8 for members / $10 for nonmembers covers one child and one adult. Additional participants are just $4. Programs take place at 10:00 a.m. and 1:30 p.m. Space is limited; therefore pre-registration is required. Registration is now open for all classes.             

  • Sep 13 Tue - Exceptional Elephants
  • Sep 14 Wed - Exceptional Elephants+
  • Oct 12 Wed - Going Batty+
  • Oct 13 Thu - Going Batty
  • Nov 8 Tue - Fabulous Flight
  • Nov 9 Wed - Fabulous Flight+
  • Dec 14 Wed - Who Lives Here+
  • Dec 15 Thu - Who Lives Here


+Younger siblings may also attend classes only at the 10:00 a.m. session. An additional fee of $4 will be charged.

Cancellation Policy>

Bring your youngsters ages newborn–Kindergarten to the Zoo all ready for bed for this 90-minute program. Each class includes a discussion, craft, Zoo experience, bedtime story, and snack. Kids are encouraged to come in their pajamas. A fee of $8 for members / $10 for nonmembers covers one child and one adult. Additional guests are $4 each. Programs take place from 6:30 – 8:00 p.m. Space is limited; therefore preregistration is required. Registration is now open for all classes.

  • Jun 4 Sat - African Forest
  • Jun 10 Fri - African Forest
  • Jul 2 Sat - Snakes are Special
  • Jul 8 Fri - Snakes are Special
  • Aug 6 Sat - Back to School
  • Aug 12 Fri - Back to School
  • Sep 3 Sat - Crazy Cats
  • Sep 9 Fri - Crazy Cats
  • Oct 1 Sat - Nifty Noses
  • Oct 7 Fri - Nifty Noses
  • Nov 5 Sat - Terrific Tails
  • Nov 11 Fri - Terrific Tails
  • Dec 3 Sat - Nocturnal Animals
  • Dec 9 Fri - Nocturnal Animals

Cancellation Policy>

Sunset Safari

Bring your preschoolers ages 12 months to six years on a learning safari! Each class is offered from 6:30 to 7:30 p.m. The fees of $6 for members and $8 for nonmembers covers one adult and one child. Additional people are $3 each. Registration is now open for all classes.

  • Jun 14 Tue - Chimpanzee
  • Jul 12 Tue - Cat
  • Aug 9 Tue - Goat
  • Sep 13 Tue - Elephant
  • Oct 11 Tue - Bat
  • Nov 8 Tue - Bird
  • Dec 13 Tue - Hedgehog

Cancellation Policy>

Tot Tuesdays

Sedgwick County Zoo, Exploration Place, Wichita WATER Center, and other area museums will be combining the fun to bring you educational activities for your 3-5 year olds each month. Siblings are welcome but classes are geared to 3-5 year olds. Each program is offered from 10:30 a.m.-11:00 a.m. PRE-REGISGRATION IS NOT REQUIRED. Tot Tuesday programs are FREE at Sedgwick County Zoo. 

  • Jun 28 Tue - Apes are Not Monkeys
  • Jul 26 Tue - Things That Go Bump in the Night
  • Aug 23 Tue - Farms
  • Sep 27 Tue - Elegant Eagles
  • Oct 25 Tue - Not So Scary
  • Nov 22 Tue - Talking Turkeys
Contacts
Cargill Learning Center:   Early Childhood Educ. Specialist
Sedgwick County Zoo
5555 Zoo Boulevard
Wichita, Kansas 67212
t: (316) 266-8213
f: (316) 712-9867
Animal Tales Preschool:   Cargill Learning Center
Sedgwick County Zoo
5555 Zoo Blvd
Wichita, KS 67212
t: (316) 266-8213
f: (316) 712-9867
Hours of Operation
Summer Hours8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
(Beginning March 1)
Winter Hours10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
(Beginning November 1)
Open 364 Days a Year!*
*The Zoo will be closed one day only, September 10, 2016 to facilitate the preparation of the annual Zoo fundraiser, Zoobilee. For Zoobilee ticket information please call 266-8APE (8273).
E-NEWSLETTER SIGNUP